How to Close your YouTube Account From Web or App

YouTube doesn’t require you to create a new account to use it. You may have also seen at the time of entering the YouTube world you’ll be just asked to link your Google account. It means your YouTube account is running on a Google account. It takes the required information such as username and profile photo from your Google account. Closing a YouTube account is a little tricky job, and you can do it from the web as well as the app. As YouTube doesn’t ask to create an account, it also doesn’t provide any option delete the profile. If you want to remove your identity from YouTube, then you need to go deep into Google Settings. Here is how to close your YouTube account through YouTube website or app.

YouTube Account

How to close a YouTube account from YouTube website (YouTube.com)

At first, you need to access YouTube settings, from there, you’ll go to your Google account settings. Once you are there, then closing a YouTube account won’t be difficult anymore. Go through the instructions listed below to close your account quickly.

1.    Visit ‘YouTube.com’ with a browser installed on your computer. It is not necessary to use a computer and you can use your tablet or smartphone too.

2.    If an account is already logged in to YouTube, then check that it is the one you want to close. If it is not, then sign out it and sign in with the YouTube account that you want to delete.

3.    After signing in to the right account, click on your ‘Profile photo’ icon at the top-right corner.

4.    Click on ‘Settings’ in the dropdown box. You’ve reached the YouTube Settings.

5.    Now, click on ‘View or change your account settings’ under the Overview tab. Clicking the link will redirect you to your Google account page.

6.    Look under the Account Preferences section on Google account page and click on ‘Delete your account or services.’ It will be at last in the Account Preferences box.

7.    Select ‘Delete products’ option on the next page. Choosing this option prompts you to sign in to your Google account. This is for verifying that you’re deleting the products.

8.    If you want to get your data before deleting the account, then click on the ‘DOWNLOAD DATA’ option. You can choose the data you’d like to download as well as the file format and delivery method.

9.    After your data downloads, click on the ‘Trash’ icon next to YouTube into the services list.

10.    Choose whether you want to delete your YouTube account permanently.

11.    Read the given options carefully and select according to your choice.

12.    Have a look at what you will delete and what not, and check the boxes to confirm.

13.    Then click on ‘DELETE MY CONTENT’ button at the bottom. Keep in mind, clicking it will delete the content and you can’t undo it.

Your YouTube account and the data both will delete permanently.

How to close a YouTube account from YouTube app

Applications make everything simple to understand and achieve. If you like to use YouTube app, then you can close your account from it too. Here is how you can close your YouTube account from the app.

1.    Launch the ‘YouTube’ app.

2.    Tap on your ‘Profile photo’ icon at the top right corner.

3.    Then tap on the ‘Downward facing arrow’ next to your profile photo and username.

4.    Next, tap on the ‘Cog’ icon.

5.    Now, select the account you want to close. Tapping on an account will select it and open the Google account page for it.

6.    Go to ‘Account Preferences’ tab.

7.    And tap on the ‘Delete Google services’ option. Tapping it will prompt you to sign in to your Google account. This is for verifying that you’re deleting the products.

8.    Tap on ‘Trash’ icon next to YouTube into the services list.

9.    Choose whether you want to delete your YouTube account permanently.

10.    Read the given options carefully and select according to your choice.

11.    Have a look at what will delete or what not, and check the boxes to confirm.

12.    Then tap on ‘DELETE MY CONTENT’ button at the bottom. Keep in mind, clicking it will delete the content and you can’t undo it.

Your YouTube account and the data both will delete permanently.

Jay Cross is a trained office.com/setup expert who works with the development team with feedback from customers to make it to expectations. He lives in New York and In addition to his work, he also writes for his personal blog.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *